Chiari Online Support Group

Throbbing in head

I am newly diagnosed with Chiari type 1. I have neurosurgeon consult in March. Does anyone find anything that helps for the throbbing upon exertion that goes away after A few seconds. It’s so painful. I bend and when I straighten I get a throbbing in my head that goes away when I stay still for a bit… is there anything I can do to prevent this from happening.

1 Like

I am new to this too and also waiting anxiously for my neurosurgeon appointment. I get the same thing you do with dizziness and pain in my head. I feel like since I started drinking a LOT of water it’s helped some.

2 Likes

I need to drink more water

It is so funny that you mention this! I am not a water drinker and am always trying to get more fluid into my system. I have been struggling with severe headaches since the New Year and was diagnosed with Chiari four weeks ago. I have noticed that I have been super thirsty and have been drinking much more water than normal. Perhaps my body is letting me know that proper hydration is needed?

1 Like

I find keeping my head and spine aligned helps eliminate a lot of the throbbing. Like don’t bend your chin into your chest but try to keep head and spine levelled when you do bend, and don’t bend for long. I also bend with my knees downwards when I need to (I have a toddler, so I need to fairly often) and don’t stay down for long because that is also more exerting and causes more stress/throbbing. Reducing inflammation can also help (eliminate certain foods and introduce certain others). Drinking a good amount of water is also good :slight_smile: Take am anti-inflammatory if it is bad also, I hope these help!

1 Like

Thank you for sharing this with me❤️