Chiari Online Support Group

New diagnosis, surgery or no?

For the last 4 years or so I’ve been dealing with occipital headaches and neck pain. Within the last year the double vision started along with multiple other symptoms. I had a MRI which showed a herniation but the neuro said it was no big deal and wouldn’t cause my symptoms. I’ve been told they are migraines or occipital neuralgia. I finally saw Dr. Heffez and was told I have a 7.5mm Chiari.

Dr. Heffez has offered surgery but said there was no rush. He stated it was all about how long I can deal with my symptoms. I am starting to have neuro changes including hyper active reflexes and clonus. I get almost daily headaches and neck pain with my neck muscles spasming. I also get daily pain in my legs and feet with foot and toe cramps.

Will surgery help? Have people generally been satisfied with their results? Anyone who has seen Dr. Heffez, did you have good results after?

Thank you for the help. I’m new to this and still learning.

2 Likes

Dr. Heffez was the one who finally diagnosed me as well. I thought he was great. I have not yet had the surgery either, but he said the same thing to me. Basically however long I can deal with the symptoms… and I’m reaching that point very quickly.

I have read stories of others who were diagnosed by him and had the surgery. Almost all of them had great success.

My best suggestion is, if it’s significantly effecting your life, do the surgery.