Chiari Online Support Group

Mom in search for advice

Good Morning, My 16 yr old was diagnosed with Chiari last year. Watching her suffer everyday is by far the hardest thing a parent has to do. I try to help her but she feels that no one can help her. She goes for surgery (decompression w/ duraplasty) on July 7th. Her Neurosurgeon is the best. Very Patient with her and very nice. He answers any questions she may have. I am looking to see if anyone has any advice on how to help her prepare for surgery and any advice on helping me help her after surgery. What can I do to help her get through it.

Thank you,

Carrie

Carrie,

I completely understand the nervousness your daughter is feeling. I was just diagnosed in January and am 12 days out from my first decompression. Although I work in the medical field, I too was nervous. It’s a natural, healthy reaction. Has your daughter ever had a surgical procedure before where general anesthesia was required? I want to tell you and her to relax and trust your surgeon. If you have someone that specializes in Chiari there is no need to worry because chances are they’ve performed this procedure hundreds of times. Just do as the nurses tell you. When you are in the recovery phase, it may be rough in the beginning but it should get better. It isn’t anything worse than what she’s experienced with her Chiari symptoms. I wish I could tell you more, but I’m still adjusting to the extra spinal fluid and get headaches. I wish you all the best. Just tell her to be brave and before she knows it she’ll be feeling better.

Jen