Chiari Online Support Group

Chiari in Chicago

Hello Everyone!

This is my first time posting on this site and I hope everyone is feeling as well as possible!

I’ve finally come on here I guess to share my story but also seeking advice on how to approach dealing with my Chiari.

I’m not sure where to start so I suppose I shall start when the migraines intensified.

I started getting severe migraines around Feb/March of 2015 after going to a new chiropractor. I honestly only joined because they offered sports/deep tissue massages! I know the chiro said I was starting to get rounded shoulders and that one leg was just slightly shorter than the other ( he didn’t say by how much). Overall he said to be conscious of my posture and that’s what I did. I remember throughout my times being there (Feb/March - June/July of 2015) complaining about having migraines just about every day that were pounding and the worst I had ever had before. I remember trying to look up why correcting my posture would bring on headaches. I eventually settled in my mind that maybe since you get headaches from poor posture or slouching that maybe for a while to get back to a better posture there might be a time period where I would be having headaches. But they didn’t subside. So eventually I started to smoke weed, I’m just going to throw it out there now! It was the only thing that helped me get past them since my body doesn’t seem to absorb Advil, Excedrin, Adderall, Ritalin, hydrocodone or anything in that family. Tylenol and Ibuprofen also never worked.

Sometime around June, I remember feeling like my mental state was just diminishing. It was hard to form sentences, thoughts, find or understand words that I knew I knew and more. I would just play it off as if I was just having an off day. When slowly it seemed like every day or every other day was an off day.